Book News: The Man Booker Awards

Man Book Logo

The Man Booker Prize Winner will be announced on Tuesday, October 14th. Last year’s winner was Eleanor Catton’s The Luminaries. Can you guess who will win this year?  This year is unique because it is the first time that there are no restrictions on the country of origin. Previously, to qualify for the award, the author needed to be from the Commonwealth of Nations, the Republic of Ireland, or Zimbabwe.  This year, there are two U.S. authors included on the Shortlist. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler and To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris (both on the Shortlist). In August, Sue recommended Fowler’s book. Read her review again here

These nominated books are original works and not adaptations of other stories. 

Check out some of the books up for the prize this year. Clicking on the book cover will take you to the catalog record.

Would you like to see the complete list and more information about the Man Booker Prize? Visit their website.

Insert Cover Insert Cover Insert Cover Insert Cover
Orfeo The Blazing World Bone Clocks Dog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s