Laona’s January Recommendation

84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

84 charing cross road“I am a big fan of epistolary novels (Ella Minnow Pea, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society), so when one of our Adult Services librarians, Dorothy, recommended 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff, I took the book home that same day.  It is a short book, and I think I read it in a little more than an hour.  It was a feeling success that I finally finished a book in one sitting! I can’t imagine not reading it in one sitting–I wanted to follow this lovely relationship from start to finish from the moment I opened the book.”

Read about or request this book from the library catalog!

3 Similar Reads (Nonfiction)

Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader by Anne Fadiman

Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi

My Dear Governess: The Letters of Edith Wharton to Anna Bahlmann

3 Similar Reads (Fiction)

The Postmistress by Sarah Blake

The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

One thought on “Laona’s January Recommendation

  1. I read this book many years ago after my father, an avid bibliophile, gave it to me. It made me realize what a treasure the written word truly is. Thanks Laona for recommending it!

Leave a Reply

