Weekly Spotlight On…The Film Canon

I recently read an article on NPR that discussed the newly released Sight and Sound List of the greatest films of all times.  More specifically, they discussed the fact that Orson Welles’s Citizen Kane, which had been number one on the list for fifty years running, was ousted this year by Alfred Hitchcock’s VertigoCheck out the full NPR article here.  The list, which you can find by clicking here, has been published every ten years since 1952.  While the list trends towards the “canonical” side, I highly recommend checking it out. I myself am not a fan of limiting myself by lists and by others telling me what is best, but there are several movies on this list that I have nevere even heard about, much less watched.  If you’re in the mood for a good, solid classic, then look no further.  And here’s a link to our library catalog if you feel like checking one of them out from your local library.

Leave a Reply

