Weekly Spotlight On…Ray Bradbury

This post is a little on the late side, but I felt it necessary to give a brief salute to one of the masters of science fiction and literature: Ray Bradbury, who passed away earlier in June.  Whether you are most familiar with his classic and hugely influential dystopic tale of Farenheit 451, of his fabulous short story collections, or of his brilliantly nightmarish young adult novel Something Wicked This Way Comes, Ray Bradbury was truly a pioneer of science fiction, fantasy, and horror writing.  Ray Bradbury’s gift for storytelling makes his novels and stories accessible to everyone–not just the science fiction or horror reader.  In the spirit of keeping his name and legacy alive, I thought it would be worthwhile to post some good Ray Bradbury readalikes and recommended summer science fiction reads.  The first five books are courtesy of a list that I encountered on NPR, click here for the full NPR article:

After The Apocalypse: Stories by Maureen F. McHugh

In her new collection, Story Prize finalist Maureen F. McHugh delves into the dark heart of contemporary life and life five minutes from now and how easy it is to mix up one with the other. Her stories are post-bird flu, in the middle of medical trials, wondering if our computers are smarter than us, wondering when our jobs are going to be outsourced overseas, wondering if we are who we say we are, and not sure what we’d do to survive the coming zombie plague.

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Sladin Ahmed

Three superheroes in the Crescent Moon Kingdoms bound together by a series of magical murders must work together in a race against time to prevent a sorcerer’s plot from destroying the world.

 

Arctic Rising by Tobias S. Buckwell

In a future ravaged by global warming, an innovative corporation creates a technology that can both cool the planet and provide a massive super-weapon, prompting airship pilot Anika Duncan to be swept up in an international plot.

 

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson

A tale set in a technologically sophisticated solar system three hundred years in the future follows the experiences of former world designer Swan, who in the wake of an unexpected death is led into a plot to destroy everything she has helped to create.

 

Blackout by Mira Grant

In 2041, Georgia Mason, held hostage by a team of CDC researchers, must find her way back to Shaun Mason, who is dealing with his own problems, such as zombie bears, mad scientists and rogue government agencies, before things get worse in her post-zombie, post-resurrection America.

 

Recommended Ray Bradbury books and readalikes:

The Stories of Ray Bradbury, with an introduction by Chris Buckley Check out this copy of Ray Bradbury’s short stories–it has one of my all time favorites, called “All Summer In A Day”, which (in my opinion) is one of the most beautiful short stories ever written.

 

Here are some author readalikes to consider if you like Ray Bradbury:

Patricia Anthony (Try Brother Termite)

Dani Kollin (Try The Unincorporated Man)

Peter Crowther (Try Songs of Leaving)

Theodore Sturgeon (Try Microcosmic God)

David Almond (Try Skellig)

Pat Murphy (Try Adventures in Time and Space With Max Merriwell)

Orson Scott Card (Try Ender’s Game)

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s